A Week Off was A Poor Decision

I went on a 5 mile run last week and it about killed me. I didn’t do a thing for the next 4-5 days and my body was hurting. Finally, I got up and jumped back out there, man did I pay for taking that week off.

I signed up at my local recreation center and started using their fitness center for my training. Running outside and running on a treadmill are different, your body responds differently to your feet landing on the track as opposed to the blacktop. My lower back let me know that, of course that could have been the cycling I did.

I sat on a bike machine where the seat was low and I was in a bit of a slouch. This is not how you sit on a bike for cycling and is not comfortable. I rode for a mile without stopping and my back was pretty pissed about it. It was stiff for the next few days which made running and stretching tougher than usual.

I kept stretching my back to relieve the tightness and it has been working. I need to remember to sit properly, with my hips rotated so that my spine is properly supported, so my back doesn’t suffer while riding again.

The rec center has a pool so I’m going to check into that on Monday. Just got a new suit to train in so this should be interesting. It’s been a long time since I’ve done any kind of lap swimming. Mostly when I’m in a pool anymore it’s with one of my little cousins attached at my hip or I’m on a floating device with a cold beverage in my hand.

I have been slacking on my yoga, which has been clear and is going to change. You’d be amazed at how much stronger and limber your body feels just from 10-20 minutes of yoga. People think it’s a weird exercise that doesn’t do anything or it’s not a real workout, trust me, I noticed a difference within DAYS of starting it and can tell when I’ve been slacking. Do yourself a favor and find a yoga that works for you and start it. It may be hard at the beginning, just keep going, it’s worth it.

I ran for an entire 1.25 miles without walking! This may not seem like much, but for me that’s a huge accomplishment and something that I can build on. I know that I can go that far without walking, next is 2 miles and so on. Baby steps, little victories, that’s how successes are made overnight. Believe me, champions take years to become overnight successes, this is my beginning.

Leave a Reply

