The Decision

I have been an athlete for the majority of my life. I played softball, soccer, and basketball in high school and continued softball into college. After college, I stopped playing altogether and gained about 40 pounds in the process. Needless to say, the athlete in me has been dying to resurface and take back control.

I love sports, all things sports, but I’ve had 7 concussions, so my pickings are slim as to what sports I can play now… at 32, that’s a big fat zero, or so I thought. While I enjoy working out, going to the gym is boring. I’m used to having teammates there and the weight lifting was part of training for another sport, it was not the primary activity. This can make it difficult, even for someone who has done it half their life, to keep the drive to keep going.

As I was studying to finish my degree in strength and conditioning, I came across a little site called “Ironman.” No, no, not the awesome comic book turned movies with the talented and handsome RDJ, but the completely epic on its own triathlon.

There are different triathlons, from Sprints to Olympic to Ironman/Ironwoman, and a few in between. Here, I thought, would be not just one sport that I could train for, but 3. I went to the site and it opened a whole new world to me, and a new journey I would like you to join me on.

The site, http://www.ironman.com is full of everything triathlon that you could think of or desire. They have a site called “Ironman U” where you can take a course in “Introduction into Triathlons” and it will tell you what to expect, what your diet should/could consist of, what to expect on race day, and how to train for the race itself.

They have communities that you can join to find other triathletes to help you through your process and access to coaches who can give you tips and pointers on how to develop your skills for race day.

I am excited about the opportunity to get back into being competitive, that drive is something that never truly goes away. I would love for you to go on this journey with me, not just for fun, but also for a bit of accountability. Sometimes we just need someone outside of ourselves to give us that little nudge to keep going when we hit a rough patch, that’s where you come in.

So, join me please, all you have to do is read a blog, I’m doing all the “heavy lifting.” Here goes nothing, let’s see how long it takes to get to Kona!

2 thoughts on “The Decision

Leave a Reply

